Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Staff Picks


Have you ever taken care of a neighbor’s cat?

In Care of Wooden Floors by Will Wiles a freelance writer from London housesits in a gloomy unnamed Eastern Europe country.  One leather couch, two cats, a professional grade piano, an extremely delicate wooden floor, one hostile housekeeper and a few dozen bottles of wine – what could possibly go wrong?  A lot more than you could ever imagine. 

Humor and action give this literary novel real appeal.  Like red wine on light wood, what starts out as a simple story turns quite a bit darker.  Fans of Franz Kafka, Edgar Allan Poe and Charlie Chaplin films will appreciate the metamorphoses of both character and setting in Care of Wooden Floors.

Before the neighbors drop off their keys this summer make sure you've read Care of Wooden Floors by Will Wiles.   It's definitely the funniest and most original book you'll ever read about housesitting.       

Alicia Cavitt
Information Specialist

No comments:

Post a Comment