Thursday, September 24, 2015

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence - 2016 Longlist Announced! (Fiction)

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction were established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The shortlist will be announced in October and the winners (one fiction and one non-fiction) will be announced January 10, 2016. For more information go to

Fiction Nominees

The Distant Marvels by Chantal Acevedo

The Harder They Come by T.C. Boyle

Mothers, Tell Your Daughters by Bonnie Jo Campbell

Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg

Outline by Rachel Cusk

The Green Road by Anne Enright

Purity by Jonathan Franzen

Best Boy by Eli Gottlieb

City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg

Delicious Foods by James Hannaham

Welcome to Braggsville by T. Geronimo Johnson

Marvel and a Wonder by Joe Meno

The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen

Honeydew by Edith Pearlman

The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard

Prudence by David Treuer

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

The Dying Grass by William T. Vollmann

The Visiting Privilege by Joy Williams

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Beth Moore
Information Specialist