Monday, December 15, 2014

Adult Fiction and Music Picks

Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

This winner of the 2014 Edgar Award for Best Novel will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin.


The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters
(Last Policeman trilogy, Book 1)

A unique and compelling pre-apocalyptic murder mystery series.  The first in the series, The Last Policeman, won the 2013 Edgar Award for Best Paperback original.

Countdown City by Ben H. Winters
(Last Policeman trilogy, Book 2)





World of Trouble by Ben H. Winters
(Last Policeman trilogy, Book 3)






Foreverly by Billie Joe Armstrong and Norah Jones

An unlikely pairing of Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong and Norah Jones. The duo wonderfully performs versions of traditional Americana songs released by The Everly Brothers in 1958.







Can't Get Enough by The Rides

A Blues-Rock collaboration between the legendary Stephen Stills, guitarist Kenny Wayne Shepherd and veteran keyboardist Barry Goldberg.



Lea Keller
Information Specialist
Hampton Park Library




















Thursday, December 11, 2014

Staff Picks - Adult Fiction

In the Blood by Lisa Unger

Beautiful Lies by Lisa Unger

Darkness, My Old Friend by Lisa Unger

Unseen by Karin Slaughter 

The Kept by James Scott







I've been on a Lisa Unger kick. It started with In The Blood, which kept me reading with all the suspense and twists and mystery.

Karin Slaughter's Unseen was my first foray into audiobooks. It was really a treat to listen to a book while driving or cleaning or sitting at my kids' swim practice. Slaughter's rich characters, which have a long history with each other in several novels written prior to Unseen, and action packed murder/crime stories, set in Georgia, made me want to listen long after I'd arrived at my destination, or finished vacuuming and needed to shut the audio book off!

I'm currently reading The Kept as recommended by this blog. It is set in 1897, in wintry upstate NY. A midwife comes home to find her husband and 4 of her 5 children brutally murdered. She and her surviving son leave to find the people who committed this horrible crime.

Jill Wagner
Information Specialist

Monday, December 8, 2014

Staff Picks - Children

Whittington by Alan Armstrong

This delightful tale about a sophisticated tomcat begins when Whittington (the cat) seeks a new home on the farm belonging to the animal lover, Bernie, and his grandchildren, Ben and Abby.  After making a deal with, the duck, known as The Lady, – who is in charge of the barn – Whittington moves in and proceeds to entertain the animal residents by telling stories.  Thus the book becomes a story within a story, as Whittington shares the remarkable tale about his famous ancestor, after whom he is named, who lived in 18th century England.   Whittington is also instrumental in helping one of the farm’s human children, Ben, who is struggling learning to read. Newbery Honor book of 2006, this delightful tale is sure to please readers who love animals and a good story.

Julie Boyd
Youth Services Supervisor
Cumming Library

Saturday, December 6, 2014

FCPL to Host Winter Family Carnival in January

All the joy and excitement of the holidays will soon be over and the fun of spring and summer will seem so very far away. 

But don’t be sad!

Forsyth County Public Library invites you to shake off the winter blues at its indoor Winter Family Carnival on Saturday, January 10 from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. at the Forsyth Conference Center, 3410 Ronald Reagan Blvd.

“The Winter Family Carnival offers our community a chance to have a little fun with our staff and volunteers, while also learning more about the services the Library offers, particularly our eLibrary services,” says Laura Bradley, Program Manager.

 “We’re offering the Winter Family Carnival both as a fun way to pull our community together, and also to educate citizens about all the services they can access without ever setting foot inside a library branch. All they need is a library card, a computer or mobile device, and an Internet connection.”  Attend our Winter Family Carnival and visit our eLibrary booths to be entered to win a Kindle Fire HD 7 Tablet, provided by the Forsyth Public Library Friends & Advocates.

Representatives from several eLibrary services, such as Hoopla, Flipster, and Infobase, will be demonstrating how to use their online services and apps. Library staff and tech-savvy volunteers will demonstrate other services for kids, teens, and adults and will also be available in the Technology Open House section of the Carnival.  Patrons are encouraged to drop in and bring their technology-related questions and devices—iPads, smart phones, tablets, etc.  We'll answer your questions and teach you about your new technology!

Kids and families can enjoy concessions and carnival games, such as Giant Bowling, Giant Jenga, and Plinko, or put on a mask and cape to take a selfie in the Superhero Photo Booth. 

But the biggest excitement for young readers will come when Nick Bruel’s Bad Kitty takes the stage for a “purr-fect” storytime featuring a reading from a Bad Kitty eBook, a puppet show, parachute games, music, and funky feline dancing. When storytime is over, kids of all ages are invited to participate in a meet-and-greet session with Bad Kitty.

Teens can dress up as their favorite book characters and compete in “What’s Your Fandom?”  We’ll have a costume contest and the winners will be rewarded with iTunes gift cards. The Winter Family Carnival will also include a fandom trivia contest.  

“And, for those aspiring writers who resolve to have their work published in the coming year,” says Bradley, “BookLogix will be hosting a workshop entitled Publishing in the Digital Age: eBooks and More! that covers the basics of preparing a book for self-publishing, as well as tips on promoting it.”

The Winter Family Carnival is sponsored by the Forsyth County Public Library Friends and Advocates and is free to the public. No registration is required. For more information, please visit www.forsythpl.org.