Friday, May 22, 2020

Staff Picks Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut

Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut

Would you like to relive the 1990s? The characters in Kurt Vonnegut’s novel Timequake do exactly that and find they don't enjoy it much. Timequake is a pointedly humorous look a fictional worldwide disruption, a timequake that jumps from February 2001 to February 1991 and forces everyone to relieve the prior decade–mistakes, catastrophes, and all--without any deviation from the original. Written in 1997, the novel focuses on the lives of individuals, including author Kurt Vonnegut and one of his most memorable characters, the fictional author, Kilgore Trout. The story blends intellectual observations and autobiographical anecdotes with Vonnegut’s unique brand of wry humor.

If you feel in a rut and can relate to characters desperate for the return of free will, check out Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut from our eLibrary today. You’ll also find Vonnegut’s classic, Slaughterhouse-Five, Cat's Cradle, The Sirens of Titan, Mother Night, and While Mortals Sleep, a collection of his early short stories.  Audiobook fans can enjoy Armageddon in Retrospect, Vonnegut's commentaries on war and peace or Man Without a Country, a collection of his autobiographical writings, on RB Digital. The Libby App makes it easy to start enjoying FCPL’s digital catalog from wherever you are.

Alicia Cavitt
Information Specialist