Friday, September 18, 2015

What to Read Next: Try NoveList Plus on ForsythPL.org

NoveListPlus is a database designed to help readers find new books to read. NoveList Plus provides enhanced subject access to over 125,000 fiction titles and more than 90,000 full-text book reviews or annotations.

What Can NoveList Plus Do For Me? 

Patrons of the Forsyth County Public Library can use NoveList Plus to:

  • Explore fiction and nonfiction by genre, audience level, setting, geographic area, time period, subject, and appeal factors
  • Find and print a list of all the books in a series, with annotations included and with titles listed in order
  • Find “read-alikes” for titles or authors you have read and enjoyed in the past.
  • Locate information on genre definitions, genre trends, and a Reader’s Advisory Toolbox

What Appeals to You?

One of the newest and most exciting features of NoveList Plus is the appeal mixer. Often readers enjoy books with a certain mood, feel, tone, or pacing. Now NoveList Plus allows you to create a customized list of book recommendations based on your chosen combination of appeal factors.

Create Your Own Reading List

The Appeal Mixer is a fun way to create a potential reading list for yourself, for your children or other members of your family, or even for your neighborhood book club. To use the Appeal Mixer, visit the Reader's Corner pages for Teens or Adults on www.forsythpl.org and click on  NoveList Plus. You can also find links to NoveList K-8 Plus on the Reader’s Corner  pages for Elementary and Preschool.

Once you're in NoveList Plus, look for the “Browse By” drop down menu and choose “Appeal." Now you can choose up to three categories, including character, illustration, pace, storyline, tone, and writing style. Next, choose from a drop down list of appeal factors for each of your three categories and NoveList Plus will return a list of titles matching the criteria you selected. If you want to narrow the list, click on “view all” and you can further filter your results from the left side of the page.

Get for More Book Recommendations

NoveList Plus is just one of many ways you can find book recommendations from the library. You might also like to try our Personalize Reading Suggestions for Adults, Teens, and Kids, check out the FCPL Group on Goodreads, or join in one of our Book Clubs for Adults, Teens, and Kids.

No comments:

Post a Comment